• Our hope-filled future is bound up in sharing the story of Jesus, in discipling others, in bringing those disciples together into communities of believers, and in developing and releasing those believers to create other communities... till Jesus the King comes again!

Going more “contextual”

Going “contextual” can’t just be limited to the words one uses or hears.  Meaning and transformation is also conveyed through one’s life, actions and the frameworks that one uses to serve others.  This came home to me in a prophetic or transformational way recently at the house church/Bible study we attend.  Though I was part of the team that was at the origin of the current group, I had deliberately taken a more facilitative role, encouraging the others to assume leadership direction.

On the last meeting night before the summer break, the main leader announced that we should be praying about creating a second group in the fall.  I almost fell out of my chair.  This is what so many of us hope and pray for, that is, that a group catches the multiplicational spirit and actually moves to create other communities. 

I approached the leader right after the meeting and shared with him that I was willing to help in any way that I could in the launch of this new community.  Without even hesitating, he reminded me that I was too busy and my offer was a little unrealistic. Besides, he said, “What more could you do?  I just appreciate the fact that you’re around and I can talk through situations with you that come up in the group.” 

My pride certainly took a hit.  Who wouldn’t want to jump back in to working such a neat initiative?  But, the facilitative stance I had sought to take far outweighed my words, and had liberated this leader not only to move the group forward, but also to speak transformationally to my heart.

Leave a Reply

