• Our hope-filled future is bound up in sharing the story of Jesus, in discipling others, in bringing those disciples together into communities of believers, and in developing and releasing those believers to create other communities... till Jesus the King comes again!

Humble Listening

“For the Christian, dialogue is a fundamental aspect of bearing witness to the truth of Christ.  Where there is genuine longing for the other to come to ‘the light of the knowledge of the glory of God in the face of Jesus Christ’ (2 Cor. 4:6), there will always be a posture of humbling listening.  For it is the desire to communicate that motivates us also to listen well.  Listening to people involves taking their beliefs, fears and aspirations with utmost seriousness, even being prepared to be disturbed and challenged by them ourselves.  All witness, and thus all true dialogue, is a risky undertaking.  Whoever serves me must follow me, and where I am, there will my servant be also (12:26). It is not the missionary who carries Jesus to others; on the contrary, it is the crucified and risen Jesus who leads us in our witness into places where we fear to venture.”

This quote comes from a book I’ve been working my way through: The Message of Mission, by Howard Peskett and Vinoth Ramachandra.  I recognize that it speaks of our own witness to others of the truth of God, and how in that process we as well can grow from that “dialogue”.

But these words also spoke to my heart as I consider my ongoing preparation for Cape Town 2010.  I think that they encapsulate what should be my main prayer, and the one I would ask you to pray for me: that I would have a posture of “humble listening”; that I would listen well to others and discern what God is saying to me and to us as a mission community through these brothers and sisters in Christ from so many different nations and people groups. 

Maybe this should be our prayer together over the coming days: that we would humbly listen to those around us where we serve, and learn what God would have to say to us through them.

One Response

  1. David,

    This is my prayer for you, for me, and for us.

    Mark

Leave a Reply

