• Our hope-filled future is bound up in sharing the story of Jesus, in discipling others, in bringing those disciples together into communities of believers, and in developing and releasing those believers to create other communities... till Jesus the King comes again!

Living in Your Father’s Story

Thanks to Albert for today’s post:

“I love the title, Living in your Father’s Story, of Part 4 of this book.  When I try to live out my own story, I tend to use prayer as a way of getting God to fulfill my dreams.  The diagram in chapter 19, page 170, gives good insight on living in my Father’s story.

When I am God-centered, I focus on His power and rest in knowing that He is in control.  When I slip into me-centeredness, I either become demanding, telling God what to do to accomplish my goals or I sink in despair and conclude that prayer doesn’t work because things are out of my control and life doesn’t seem to be working for me.

When I am weary and burdened, Jesus invites me to come to Him for rest.  He tells me to submit to His yoke and learn humility.  He wants me to surrender my desires to be in control.  When I accept Jesus’ invitation and humbly give control to Him the weight of my burdens shift to Him and I experience release and joyous freedom.  I enter His story and discover the wonder and delight of Him living His life in and through me.

My power struggles and discouragements are transformed by a delightful awareness that God is always in control with full power to even use evil to work out His good purposes.  Prayer becomes a delight because it releases me from me—my biggest burden.  I find God praying through me, aligning me with His story, which I know will result in my being part of history—His story.  Wow!  I like it.  I want more of it.”

Leave a Reply

