• Our hope-filled future is bound up in sharing the story of Jesus, in discipling others, in bringing those disciples together into communities of believers, and in developing and releasing those believers to create other communities... till Jesus the King comes again!

What a Wonderful God We Serve

Thanks to Ray for today’s post:

What a wonderful God we serve….” Just think about God’s creation, the universe. Scientists tell us that the part of the universe that can be detected from earth is about 93 billion light-years in diameter: It might be much, much bigger. The psalmist stated that God stretches out the heavens like a tent (Psalm 104:2). Solomon was inspired by God to state: “The heavens, even the highest heavens cannot contain you (God).” (1 Kings 8:27)  Now, think about the stars. If one divides the number of stars among the six billion plus people in the world, each person would have dozens of trillions of stars.

God, the creator of such a universe, “raised us up with Christ and seated us with him in the heavenly realms in Christ Jesus.” (Eph 2:6) Yet, even though we are seated with Christ in the heavenly realms, circumstances leave us wondering the validity of Jesus’ statement in John 14:14: “You may ask me for anything in my name, and I will do it.” We are aware of the conditions elsewhere in the New Testament which qualify that statement: we must always pray and not give up (Luke 18:1); we must have faith that he will answer us (James 1:6-8); we are to ask in Jesus’ name (John 16:23-24); we must obey his commands and do what pleases him (1 John 3:22); and we must ask according to his will (1 John 5:23). Yet reality easily makes us ponder.

I understand very well Paul Miller’s desert. We all have been there. We all have appreciated the lessons that God has taught us there, the peace that God has given us as a result, the assurance of his faithfulness as we look back at the desert, and the joy that God gives us as we step from the desert into his throne of grace. The biggest lesson God has taught me is to seek to know his will before I pray his will to happen.

These days I seek to pray less glibly for God to heal the sick around me, for God to meet the financial needs of those I know, for God to show his power to my unsaved friends. Rather, I pray that God will guide me in my personal and public prayers, give me the words to say, and then to answer the prayer that he gave me to say. My own self at times gets in the way; my emotions at times blind me. But God continues to lead me unconditionally towards the throne of grace.

God continues to shower his grace sometimes in humorous and surprising ways. Last month, as we were riding on the road past a game park with a visitor and a friend, my wife asked that friend to pray that God would show us some animals. Within a half hour we stopped three times: first to see a bunch of monkeys, second to see a bunch of giraffes, third to see a couple of the largest deer in Cameroon. Our friend was very surprised and joyful. So was I.

4 Responses

  1. Been studying Eph 3:14-21 today, the last part of Paul’s prayer for the Ephesians. Paul seems to be asking God to do the impossible, “that you may be filled up to all the fulness of God.” Would that not be more than God can do? To fill one up to equal Himself?
    He certainely is a Wonderful God!

    • How have you seen that prayer working out in your life these days? Knowing that might help us say even more, “what a wonderful God we serve”!

  2. I am enjoying a closer relationship with the Lord. This translates into a richer relationahip with others, my wife and other believers.

    Another point is that this is the way I want others to pray for me and a way I can effectively pray for my fellow missionaries and acquaintances. We really do serve a wonderful God; I want to know Him better.

Leave a Reply

