• Our hope-filled future is bound up in sharing the story of Jesus, in discipling others, in bringing those disciples together into communities of believers, and in developing and releasing those believers to create other communities... till Jesus the King comes again!

Still Not Satisfied

I agree that there are a certain number of false dichotomies such as being versus doing, people oriented versus task oriented, and faithfulness versus fruitfulness.  It is not either/or, but both/and.

I agree that it is God who “brings the increase”, who chooses to work in us and through us in order that fruit may come from our efforts for His glory; that we are not called to measure the value of our work simply by the fruit that comes or does not come from our efforts.

But I am still not satisfied with our answer as to how to “assess” the ministry, the work to which God has called us.  I am not satisfied because the Bible repeatedly encourages us to “make further progress” in our faith; to “bear fruit that lasts”; and “to teach faithful people who will be able to teach others also”. 

In other words, the Bible implies that as stewards of the resources God has entrusted to us, we will “enter wholeheartedly into our work, to take risks, to try new strategies.”  We will also allow ourselves to be accountable as a means to constructively evaluate how we can use our gifts best for God’s work.

If we were to truly “one another” one another (i.e. be accountable to another), then we would be, or should be willing to sit down with another and ask:

(1)   What is my (and your) assessment of my recent ministry activity?  Have I worked as hard as I could?  Did I follow a healthy or poor strategy?  Is there further training that I need?  Am I in the best place or role for fully using my particular strengths and gifts?

(2)   What is my (and your assessment) of my recent ministry activity?  Has my ministry stirred up a competitive spirit in my heart, a prideful and self reliant spirit?  Have I faithfully and honestly reported what has happened in my ministry?  Have I neglected my own life and journey with Jesus?

We should ‘think on these things’.

One Response

  1. Thank-you David. Great questions.

Leave a Reply

