• Our hope-filled future is bound up in sharing the story of Jesus, in discipling others, in bringing those disciples together into communities of believers, and in developing and releasing those believers to create other communities... till Jesus the King comes again!

Much Joy

Indeed, since much joy is the true fruit of the gospel of Christ, the angel calls this gospel “good tidings of great joy, that shall be to all people.””

Joy is that elusive quality of the Christian journey.  We can find ourselves often tied to an emotion-al roller coaster due to the circumstances in life and ministry.  Something in this comment though, from Jonathan Edwards, points to a deeper, a more settled response of our heart.

I know (we know) that joy is the fruit produced by the work on the Spirit in our lives: “The fruit of the Spirit is love, joy, peace …” I know (we know) that joy flows out of our experience with the Lord: “The joy of the Lord is my strength.”  Remember singing that little chorus: “I’ve got the joy, joy, joy, joy way down in the depths of my heart”?

So, I can talk about ‘joy’, but what I’m having trouble grabbing a hold of is this notion of ‘much joy’.  Somehow this takes the discussion to a whole new level.  Something needs to go deeper.  It is probably the Gospel in its fullness.  My heart needs to ‘feel’, to experience God’s work on my behalf.  I need to bask anew in the ‘great’ sacrifice, the ‘deep’ love of God the Son.  Centering my heart on that good news, on the Lamb of God will cause a fruit of ‘much joy’ to overflow in my heart and life.

Leave a Reply

