• Our hope-filled future is bound up in sharing the story of Jesus, in discipling others, in bringing those disciples together into communities of believers, and in developing and releasing those believers to create other communities... till Jesus the King comes again!

God’s Friday

I’ve often wondered why, in the liturgical calendar of the church, we call this day, “Good Friday”.  Surf the net and you’ll fall on a host of responses.  Certainly, we know from Scriptures that it is at time to remember Christ’s betrayal and crucifixion (Mark 14:32-15:41).  But why call it “good”?

Some say that the term is derived from an older meaning of the word ‘good’ which meant ‘holy or set apart.’  With that in mind, the day was one that stood out from others and which called for us to stop and consider the deeper implications of the events of that day. “I have been crucified with Christ; and it is not longer I who live, but Christ lives in me; and the life which I now live in the flesh, I live by faith in the Son of God, who loved me and delivered Himself up for me.” (Galatians 2:20)

Others say that the term, ‘Good Friday’, may be derived from ‘God’s Friday’ in the same way that good-bye is derived from ‘God be with you’.  Whether this is etymologically true or not, I found this thought added a new dimension to my reflection on this day. As I wrote yesterday, all the effort expended for our salvation then comes from God. This is His day. This is His work. This is His act of love and justice to bring us back into relationship with Him.

Oh yes, this day is ‘good’ because on this day, God the Son offered Himself for us as a holy and acceptable sacrifice.  However, this day is, in every way, God’s day. In our helpless state, and at the right time, God the Son “died for the ungodly” (Romans 5:6)

Since it is His day, may I offer a ‘sacrifice of praise’ today that is worthy of Him.

2 Responses

  1. “Good” thoughts. I was listening to CNN and one of the reporters covering the crucifixion said it was the saddest day of the year for Christians. I thought that was interesting; seeing that it was the day that God said I have proved my love for you clearly (Rm 5:8). and it was this day that mankind was able to be completely set free. I think the reporter forgot that on Sunday He rose again.

    • It is so true that the ‘eyes of our heart’ need to be opened in order to understand the earth shattering nature of the death and resurrection of Christ and the joy it can bring to one’s heart.

Leave a Reply

