• Our hope-filled future is bound up in sharing the story of Jesus, in discipling others, in bringing those disciples together into communities of believers, and in developing and releasing those believers to create other communities... till Jesus the King comes again!

What Do We Bring?

In a recent WT Asia newsletter, Tim posted the following article.  I share it with you as an insightful reflection on how the Gospel works itself out in our lives and ministries:

Recently I finished a book, When Helping Hurts, by Steve Corbett and Brian Fikkert.  I was affirmed in some ways and challenged in others in regards to our present ministry at Mercy Medical Center.  In the first few chapters, the author lays out a framework for the four foundational relationships of humanity: relationship with God, with ourselves, with others, and with creation in general.  Each of these relationships (the latter 3 flowing out from the most important relationship with our Creator) has been severed by the fall.

If we are to see lives truly transformed, each of these relationships, beginning with and foremost with God through Jesus Christ, need to be restored.

One of the main themes of the book is “poverty”. Westerners tend to think of poverty only in material terms, but in reality every human being is suffering from a
poverty of spiritual intimacy, a poverty of being, a poverty of community, and a poverty of stewardship.  This has led me to reflect on our ministry here regarding these foundational relationships.  (No answers yet; I am still in process.)

Another point that has me contemplating is: “We missionaries in the developing world are not bringing Christ to poor communities.  He has been active in these communities since creation” (Heb 1:3; Col 1:15ff).  Obviously, the people there may not recognize that God has been at work or that God even exists.  Again I wonder how this affects how I do ministry.  Do I think I am bringing Christ to people?  Maybe I should be looking for how He is working and join Him in that work He has already begun. (Again, no specific answers yet; I am still in process.)

Bottom line is that I find myself striving under a works mentality, at times feeling like I need to do the work instead of depending on Christ and walking in His Spirit.  Last week I turned 53, and I was thinking to myself, I have been walking with the Lord almost 30 years.  Why am I not more sanctified?  Why do I still get so anxious and have sleepless nights at times about my circumstances?  Oh, I have times where I am at peace, but then I want to grab the reins back from God and control things. Why don’t I just rest in Him more and rely on myself less?  (No specific answers yet; I am still in process.)

Wretched man that I am!  Who will free me from the body of this death?  Thanks be to God …

Leave a Reply

