• Our hope-filled future is bound up in sharing the story of Jesus, in discipling others, in bringing those disciples together into communities of believers, and in developing and releasing those believers to create other communities... till Jesus the King comes again!

What’s really essential?

It seems like weeks since I last posted.  In fact, it has been a number of weeks.  Part of it stemmed from the struggles of fighting back from a bad case of the flu or some kind of bug after our last trip.  Part of it was the result of my honest attempt to try and sort out ‘what’s really essential’, what should be my priorities.

Setting priorities is not a task that many of us enjoy, nor one that is easy.  I often hear others say and I often say it myself: “I have so much to do.”  We feel overwhelmed by the amount of work there is to do, and rightly so given that we are concerned with the spiritual and eternal needs of others.   However, we can dissipate our energies by trying to do too many tasks that do not help us to focus on what is really essential.

We actually prioritize more than we realize.  We do it with our budget, our home, and our activities.  We cannot tackle five to six house projects at one time.  We choose to focus on one project in order to see it to completion (funds needed, materials and time). This may mean that we will have to stop doing something in order to give the time needed to this project.  Once the project is completed, then we can move to another one.

This process of setting priorities, of deciding what is really essential in life and ministry, calls for interaction with others.  It’s a journey, it’s a process we engage in together, but it’s meant to help us focus the gifts God has given us towards what is most essential.

For which of you, desiring to build a tower, does not first sit down and count the cost, whether he has enough to complete it?”  (Luke 14:28)

2 Responses

  1. I am just now reading this post, so you can see how weak I am in this area :). What you say is so true regarding sharing with others and being concerned about people’s eternity. I was just on a week long mission trip and now that I am back in my “normal” mission life, I find myself longing to share Christ with those on the street and the kids in front of our flat. I can see what my priorities were focused on and how easy they become mostly about activity!

    • This is not any easy thing by any means, which is why I described it as a process. It’s why I also emphasize the community nature in setting priorities, that is, the need I have for others to help me stop doing some things in order to focus on what is the most essential priority or priorites. Thanks for your honesty!

Leave a Reply

