• Our hope-filled future is bound up in sharing the story of Jesus, in discipling others, in bringing those disciples together into communities of believers, and in developing and releasing those believers to create other communities... till Jesus the King comes again!

A beginning

Today, the journey begins.  I have invited all of us as the World Team community to join me in reading and discovering together the message of the book, King’s Cross, by Tim Keller.

In his opening section, simply called “Before”, Keller summarizes the aim of his book: “It is an extended meditation on the historical Christian premise that Jesus’ life, death, and resurrection form the central organizing principle of our own lives.  Said another way, the whole story of the world – and of how we fit into it – is most clearly understood through a careful, direct look at the story of Jesus.”  From the outset, Keller strives to focus our eyes on Jesus, rather than on our lives, work and ministries.  It is from that ‘look’ at Jesus that life, work and ministry flows.

The one statement that stood out for me in this section was when Keller described his own life-changing encounter with Jesus: “The best way I can put it is that, before the change, I pored over the Bible, questioning and analyzing it.  But after the change it was as if the Bible, or maybe Someone through the Bible, began poring over me, questioning and analyzing me.”  I guess I would have ordinarily used the first part of this phrase to describe the transformation that occurs when someone encounters Jesus. A new believer is someone who pores over the Bible, reading and studying it for themselves.

How many of us have watched with joy as a new believer takes a great delight in the Word?  But Keller is pointing to another indicator of that life-changing encounter with Jesus, namely that a new King now comes to reign in a person’s life.  Someone other than ourselves comes to pore over us, question us, analyze us, convict us, lift us up and restore value to us.

Here’s a question to ponder: what does that shift look like in my daily journey when God the Holy Spirit begins poring over me?

 

 

4 Responses

  1. It means that I no longer live under my own strength or power – but in my weakness He is strong. I now yield to the Spirit’s strength in my life. To quote the old hymn, “the Lord is the strength of my life.” For example, to overcome the temptations of the evil one, I depend on the discipline, strength, and voice of the Spirit. I call upon Him to fight the temptation for me.

    • Good stuff! Maybe we could even put it another way: “to overcome the temptations of the evil one, I call upon Him to fight the temptation for me, pleading for the discipline, strength, and sensitivity to the voice of the Spirit that I need to engage that battle in His strength.

  2. I think that, to a certain degree, I manage to keep Jesus at arm’s length, fearing real intimacy with Him; and yet, I’ve been known to pray Ps. 139:23, 24 many times. Yet I know in my heart, because of God’s goodness and enduring and immovable lovingkindness, I have nothing to fear of “his pouring over me.” It can only be for my personal maturity and good; knowing that God has clearly purposed to form Christ in me.

    • You are right in line with the Gospel with this comment. We do not need to fear that ‘poring over’ us by God’s Holy Spirit because we know of His great and unconditional love for us. Sometimes though, I know, the ‘poring over’ is not what we would have thought should happen (the process of sanctification) but we know He uses all things to develop and grow us in His grace.

Leave a Reply

