• Our hope-filled future is bound up in sharing the story of Jesus, in discipling others, in bringing those disciples together into communities of believers, and in developing and releasing those believers to create other communities... till Jesus the King comes again!

Should I really care about the WTGA?

The impact of the WT Global Alliance may not be seen or felt in the day-to-day life and ministry of many WT workers.  So, should you as a worker really care about the WTGA?

By all means, yes, and for two primary reasons.

First, because the Alliance will open the door for many more voices to enter the life and ministry of the mission.  One avenue will certainly be by global members from outside of the WT community joining the WT Global Alliance.  These members will bring different perspectives on issues and challenge our default way of pursuing ministry.  Another avenue will be the growing number of non North American workers who will join our teams and potentially lead our teams.  Each of us will need to be trained in greater cross cultural or multicultural communication and collaboration.

Second, because the Alliance will empower leaders and workers to expand ministries much more quickly.  With key resource players around the same table, the Alliance will have the ability to determine World Team’s response to ministry initiatives without having to poll individual resource centres or hubs.  The collaborative spirit of the Alliance will allow faster engagement and capacity to empower teams to move on new ministries and projects.

Certainly, all this is not for tomorrow.  The Alliance is in a building stage, but that is the future clearly before us, and we should care about it.

 

You are invited to share your comments and questions by posting them here on the Thoughts Along the Journey blog.  We are calling on the entire WT community to uphold this newly formed global alliance in prayer.  Pray especially for the invitation of new global members from outside the WT community.  We are praying for the laying of firm foundations that will serve future generations of workers well.

 

 

6 Responses

  1. One of the immediate things I sense must happen within my own soul is that I must (with humility engendered by Christ) seek to live out a deepening interdependence upon other global members of Christ’s Body as they become WT senders from countries whose 1st language is not English – and whose world views are quite different from my own. As one working in pastoral care, I will not be able to do this multi-language, multi-cultural work myself, but must depend upon competent care givers from other sources “foreign” to me. I must submit myself to Jesus Christ in new ways – relinquishing management and control to others – and ultimately to Jesus Christ, the Head of the Body. New challenges await us in the 21st century!!!

    • A powerful reminder of our need for one another. There are already workers within WT who can help us make this transition as well as trusted colleagues outside WT who could come along side us and train us.

  2. Thanks for the reminder of the importance of this for field workers, David. This post prompted two questions. The first is for me. In order to generously accommodate new friends from other cultures – to genuinely submit in partnership – how do I need to conduct myself in ministry? Attitudinally I certainly need humility but in practice I came up with two.

    1. Learn how people from the incoming culture make decisions.

    2. Learn how people from the incoming culture value relationships.

    Reflecting on the Chinese culture in which I find myself, I recognize that both of these are done very differently than my familial culture. And if I am going to “be trained in greater cross cultural or multicultural communication and collaboration,” then I better press on in my learning of how decisions are made and relationships formed and practiced here in Asia.

    The second is for you/us: how will you know if we care? In other words, what is practiced on a day-by-day basis in our ministries that shows we care as much about the new global alliance as you do?

    • Your question is not one easily answered: “how will you know if we care? In other words, what is practiced on a day-by-day basis in our ministries that shows we care as much about the new global alliance as you do?” The answer will be displayed more in our WT ethos than in specific steps that would be the same for all. Let me try one or two examples. First, when we are building a project for a new ministry outreach, we should look beyond our own team/field/Area, or to put it another way, beyond our own ‘silo’. Others in other places may have valuable insights that would help us in moving that project forward. This would be an outworking of what we mean be interdependence, consciously seeking ‘many voices’ to enter the discussion. A second example might be in how people approach ministry and particularly the issue of contextualization. Too often we will simply translate material from our home culture into the language in which we are working, not thinking about the cultural dissonance that might occur. I will know that people care about the Alliance when I see workers reaching out to others who are different from them for their ideas and input; when I see our growth in life and minsitry being impacted by our interaction with those from other cultures and backgrounds.

  3. An illustration here: Some years ago, while on home assignment, a supporter asked me to attend an informative breakfast with an inner-city ministry in my home town. While enjoying my eggs and bacon I asked the African-American pastor sitting across from me what was the main message he would have for ministering church groups arriving from the suburbs. He replied “Please remember that Jesus was here before you showed up.” That simple and profound reply has fueled my own commitment to look left and right, all around, seeking to understand what God is up to and how He would uniquely use me and World Team in whatever context.

Leave a Reply

