• Our hope-filled future is bound up in sharing the story of Jesus, in discipling others, in bringing those disciples together into communities of believers, and in developing and releasing those believers to create other communities... till Jesus the King comes again!

What am I going to do?

1plus1 is a challenge to each of us in the WT community to intentionally disciple one person into a relationship with Christ and to intentionally disciple one person into cross cultural ministry.  The question that immediately comes to mind is: so what am I going to do?

That is a question that each of us must answer for ourselves individually.  However, Mark in his reply to my post, reached out to all of us and asked for some ‘shared responses’.  He wrote: “I am wondering if there are others of you out there who read David’s challenge, but were thinking the same thing I am?  Let’s hear from you. And David, any advice for us?

My response or my answer to the challenge comes with three questions:Progress in Action - Road Barricade Improvement and Change for F

One, why not intentionally plan time in my schedule to be with someone seeking Christ or someone interested in serving cross culturally?  My day can easily fill up with lots of good activities and responsibilities.  If being with others is a priority, then I need to plan that into my day or at least be open to divine interruptions that lead me to people who are seeking Christ or seeking to serve Christ somewhere in the world.

Two, why not pray asking God to lead me to the right places to fish?  I am not a fisherman by hobby, but I do know that if I’m looking for something, I need to put myself in a place where there is a likelihood I will find what I am looking for.  However, I don’t know the people in whom God is working and I need His help to discern where I should put my time and energies.

Three, why not look for ways to open up spiritual conversations?  Contextualizing the Gospel means in part that we look for ways that will allow people to engage with the Gospel themselves and discover Christ in that interaction.  Sometimes, I, along with you, get lost in a conversation and can’t see a way to turn it to Christ.  Being intentional will mean that we look for ways to bring the person into dialogue with Christ about their personal relationship with Him or their desire to serve Him. Caroline gave a great example the other night when she talked about all the discussion that was going on about the ‘end of the world’.  Her simple statement/question serves as an example of opening spiritual conversation: “It’s funny how people can get so caught up in this frenzy of thinking that the world is going to end.  And it didn’t.  But it sure makes one think about what is after all this.  Have you ever thought about that?

There is no one path, but there is one challenge, and to meet that challenge we totally need God.

4 Responses

  1. Thanks David- I need to think how I can approach 1 and 2 but will be praying for definite contact(s)- Also for the third one- the Lord has challenged me to do something in my new place of residence- so next Monday I begin a Bible study in the building- not sure who, how many will come, but I know that there are many who do not know the Lord. This is a big step for me- have done (and currently do) teaching adults and children, but this is different. Thanks for challenging me.

    • Thanks for being willing to say ‘you’re in’ for the challenge! It is an encouragement to see the steps that many like you are taking to be more intentional in our efforts to share the story with others and draw others into participating in sharing the story. Keep us posted!

  2. Daniel Ehmann and I have set up a monthly time to pray together via Skype as we trust the Lord for these goals. I have a neighbor I want to see come to Christ who is very open but not yet in the kingdom. We will see who God brings along to disciple into missions.

Leave a Reply

