• Our hope-filled future is bound up in sharing the story of Jesus, in discipling others, in bringing those disciples together into communities of believers, and in developing and releasing those believers to create other communities... till Jesus the King comes again!

Were You Moved?

We all know the verse which says: “The harvest is plentiful, but the laborers are few; therefore pray earnestly to the Lord of the harvest to send out laborers into his harvest” (Matthew 9.37-38). However, we can easily pray that verse without being moved emotionally and spiritually by it.moved

Last week, we as a World Team community set aside time to rejoice in what God has done in our midst and to pray that God would raise up more disciples and establish more communities of believers.  Prayer moves our hearts and in some mysterious way it “moves” the heart of God.

As I read through the list of appointees, that is, the people who desire to serve with our teams around the world, I was moved.

I was moved by the sheer number of people in the pipeline.  If you count the names on the last two pages of the WT Prayer Day guide (Feb 2013) and add those from other Support Centres, there are over seventy (70) workers waiting to go out.

I was moved by the diversity of locations to which these workers have been assigned.

I was struck by the simple fact that many of these workers cannot head to their ministry assignment because they lack the necessary funds.

God’s desire is that more workers enter His harvest.  I, like you, am moved by this desire and in light of what I read this past week as I prayed through the WT Day of Prayer Guide, I want to discover how I can best respond.

  • I might commit to pray for several people on this list; to pray that God would provide all their needs and to pray until God does so.
  • I might share a potential contact for support with one or more of these people.  Time and again, it has been shown that when your supporters choose to support other works or workers, they commit more funds to you.
  • I might visit with one or more of these people to encourage them in partnership development.

I’m just scratching the surface here and you may have better ideas.  However, when I see that list of appointees and know that there are others waiting to go out, my heart is moved to want to do something to help.

6 Responses

  1. Thanks for the stimulus David. Good ideas… I plan to put the first 2 into effect this week.

    • Thanks Jacob for jumping on the first two ideas. I’m sure there are others. Would love to hear from you and others about other ways we can ‘move’ to help people get out to their place of ministry.

  2. Two responses: 1) Kudos to Paul from UK who I “caught” investing in a side trip (during a blitz to the USA) to Tom & Alison, appointees in the long process of partner development en route to a new ministry in Europe 2) I am prompted to call two local fellows together, I have a helpful declared reason for the coffee conversation BUT I also will help the one know how he could support the other one…in partner development.

  3. I’ve been thinking over what it looks like to be intentional and wondering who the Lord will use me to influence (and who is influencing me?). Yesterday I read Elinor Young’s latest update and I thought to myself, Elinor is the very definition of intentional! She is influencing people of all ages for mission – from little children to current field-bound World Teamers. I’m encouraged by her example and I hope you are, too.
    http://www.elinoryoung.info/EYonWorld.html

Leave a Reply

