• Our hope-filled future is bound up in sharing the story of Jesus, in discipling others, in bringing those disciples together into communities of believers, and in developing and releasing those believers to create other communities... till Jesus the King comes again!

Trying to be better than you

The music and chanting hasn’t stopped for several days. Though it seems the official cremation ceremony was last night, I was again awakened early by the chanting. Even though the ceremony may be over, it seems people still want to show how respectful they are of the deceased. However, they also want to show others how respectful they are. In a sense, they’re hoping to outdo others; to try and be better than others.humility sign

Pride and unbelief are at the heart of most of our failures. We are no more immune from being tripped up by these insidious motivations than the people chanting and singing down the street from here. Apart from holding firmly to Christ, my heart motivation will be to try and be better than you. What I need, what we need is gospel humility; a humility that comes from recognizing there is only one Rock on which I can stand and build my life and spiritual journey.

Psalm 62 speaks well to this need when David writes: “He only is my rock and my salvation, my fortress; I shall not be shaken. On God rests my salvation and my glory; my mighty rock, my refuge is God. Trust in him at all times, O people; pour out your heart before him; God is a refuge to us.”

Do you notice who the focus is in this short text? It’s all about God. Everything should go back to him, not back to us and how we measure ourselves in relationship to others.

I know that the people singing and chanting down the street need Jesus, but do I know that I need Jesus again today as much as they do?

Leave a Reply

