• Our hope-filled future is bound up in sharing the story of Jesus, in discipling others, in bringing those disciples together into communities of believers, and in developing and releasing those believers to create other communities... till Jesus the King comes again!

Is your world too small?

All of us could give strong and valid reasons for an inner call we have sensed from God to the ministry and people where we serve. That call first to serve God and then to follow Him into cross cultural ministry resonates in each of our hearts. Many spend years learning a language and gaining an understanding of the dynamics and cultural cues that are necessary to bring the message of Christ to those from another culture.small world

However, I have noticed that because of that singular focus I can sometimes lose sight of the larger world around me where God is working. I can become oblivious to what is happening in the Church elsewhere in the world. I am concerned about God’s mission, but in my limited area. I am in danger of developing a ‘mono-world’ view. My world has become too small.

When my world becomes too small, I can keep my heart from opening to the needs of people in other places. I might thwart God from possibly moving me from my current world and ministry to another. Now I am not saying that we should all be thinking about moving to another place or country. I am calling us, though, to open our hearts to God’s larger missional activity in the world around us and asking questions about how He wants us to respond:

  • You might choose one worker from another region and ask to receive their prayer letter; ask them to point you to some links about the people group that they are working among.
  • Build a love for another people group through prayer or through a simple act of reaching out to those who are different from you right where you live.
  • Prayerfully consider opportunities in other places in WT where your gifts and experience might be used.

Leave a Reply

