• Our hope-filled future is bound up in sharing the story of Jesus, in discipling others, in bringing those disciples together into communities of believers, and in developing and releasing those believers to create other communities... till Jesus the King comes again!

Vaccinated, not infected

I subscribe to qideas.org and receive regular notes about articles or talks posted to their website. One the other day caught my attention: “The Gospel as a Virus”.  I, like you, have often heard it said that many have been “vaccinated against the Gospel, against the real thing”.  It’s a way we use to describe the difficulty of the cultural context in which we work in some places in the world.Pupil receiving vaccination from school nurse

However, I had not really thought about making the application to me or us as a Christian community.  Richard makes a number of powerful statements in this talk, but one that kind of stuck with me was the fact that the Gospel is: “a call to show the world a different way to live as forgiven people; reconciled to God and reconciled to one another.”

The Gospel is first of all about teaching me how to live a different life.  The Gospel focuses on having me experience forgiveness and reconciliation in my relationship with God and with others.  How can I share this message, this virus, with others if it has not first “infected” my life?

There’s the interesting piece.  Living out of the Gospel, “preaching the Gospel” to myself on a daily basis is first of all not a series of tasks or steps.  It’s about living.  It’s about praying [and asking others for help] to see God work the Gospel deeper into my life through the experiences and conversations I have throughout the day.

Many times, the faith I show to others communicates the message that Christianity straightens out the mess of one’s life and gives one a system to better live by.  I probably need to spend more time on experiencing the Gospel “virus” in my own life, so that what I share with others will be “life to life”

 

 

Leave a Reply

