• Our hope-filled future is bound up in sharing the story of Jesus, in discipling others, in bringing those disciples together into communities of believers, and in developing and releasing those believers to create other communities... till Jesus the King comes again!

Who am I?

Tomorrow, I’ll be speaking to the participants at the US Assessment Centre.  It is an opportunity to once again rehearse our identity (who we are) and our vision (what we do) with those expressing an interest in working with World Team.who-am-i

Our identity is summed up in this statement: We exist to glorify God by working together to establish reproducing churches focusing on the unreached peoples of the world.

Our vision is summed up in this statement: Innovative teams multiplying disciples and communities of believers, bringing the Gospel within reach of lost people everywhere we go.

At the end of my presentation, I usually come back to highlight both our identity and our vision.  This time though, I have decided to add another piece.  In part, it stems from our recent discussions of core values.  I’m going to underscore that both our identity and vision flow out of one source, that is, the Gospel.

Who we are and what we do is first and foremost a result of what God in Jesus Christ has done for us.  Even more than that, our work can only be carried out effectively, or fruitfully, as we serve Him out of a heart of Gospel humility.

That insight hit hard as I realized that my contribution or my participation in God’s mission is often characterized more by self centred pride than by Gospel humility.  Part of community is learning how to yield to others and being made aware of just how little I am other centred.

I am praying for more workers.  I am praying for more workers who resonate with our vision.  I am praying for more workers who have hearts mastered by Jesus and characterized by a Gospel humility.

Maybe I should have titled this post: Who are we?

 

4 Responses

  1. The final question, “Who are we?” is profound. Are you talking about us as a related group of individuals, or us as World Team–the institution and organization to which we belong and in which we find part of our identity?

    • I was thinking about the latter, the organization or community to which we belong and find part of our identity/value. But I would think the first statement which also be a natural outgrowth of what I was trying to say in the bulk of the post. I regularly your comment from Balaton where you emphasized how often we read the biblical text from an individual and not a collective or community perspective. I keep asking myself that question when I ‘rehearse’ or review the core values or truths we say we stand by.

  2. I appreciate this post David. One thing that attracts me to other believers is this sense of humility-humility in who we are, brokenness that there is nothing of value in our being except that God has chosen to forgive us. When meeting with other WTers I often see this trait, which has usually been cultivated in the greenhouse of ministry struggles, loneliness, and suffering. These folks have chosen to take these hard times as blessings from the LORD. They are an example to me.

    • Thanks for sharing your thoughts! I find humility also emanates from those who have nurtured a deep relationship with Christ through a growing understanding of what Christ has done for them. This AM in church, one of our young leaders read Ephesians 1 and talked about how ‘it took away his breath’ reading that text. He said he could stop after each verse and be overwhelmed by what God had done for him, for us.

Leave a Reply

