• Our hope-filled future is bound up in sharing the story of Jesus, in discipling others, in bringing those disciples together into communities of believers, and in developing and releasing those believers to create other communities... till Jesus the King comes again!

One impact of knowing He was here first

Last week, I posted about an article in the French evangelical journal, Théologie Evangélique.  At church (our local community of believers) this past Sunday, I leaned over to one of our elders and mentioned how much I appreciated the article.  He replied that he had another article that he wanted to share with me.  It was an article he felt would help expat workers better understand work and ministry in the French culture.   humility sign bis

The unique twist was that the article was about the life and ministry of Roger Williams. an English pastor and theologian who immigrated to the American colonies in the early 17th century.

It was history being used to aid in understanding the history or context of another culture.

I haven’t read the article, and my familiarity with the breadth of Williams thinking and teaching is limited.  However, I was beginning to see a theme running from David Bogue to Roger Williams to our work today.  Knowing that God was here first before my feet even touched the European soil will create above all a gospel  humility in my heart and thinking.

How can it do otherwise?  As I read through history and understand what God has been active at doing around the world through people like you and me, I recognize that this is not our mission, but His mission.  When I consider how easily I can misunderstand cues or insights because of my cultural blinders, I have to reach out to others for help, particularly brothers and sisters from the culture or people group where I have been called to serve.

We will never stop learning about God and what He is about.  Likewise, we will be regularly pushed to set aside our deep rooted pride to humbly join His cause in this world to seek after lost people.

Leave a Reply

