• Our hope-filled future is bound up in sharing the story of Jesus, in discipling others, in bringing those disciples together into communities of believers, and in developing and releasing those believers to create other communities... till Jesus the King comes again!

i have a dream

Many of us are familiar with Martin Luther King’s famous speech, “I have a dream” where Dr. King cast a vision for what freedom and justice might look like in one country of the world.  By using a series of word pictures, he built a desire in people’s hearts for such an internal and societal change.I-Have-a-Dream-520x336.png bis

I have a dream for World Team.

I have a dream that one day all workers, all staff serving with World Team will speak of others with respect, honesty and appreciation; that people from World Team will choose to video Skype rather than send an e-mail to say things that may be hard or difficult to say.  I have a dream that World Team workers, World Team staff will send more tangible gifts of appreciation than just an occasional ‘thank you’ at the end of a note.

I have a dream that speaks to cultural issues; organizational culture issues.

I have a dream for World Team.

I have a dream that World Team workers and staff will value both leaders and followers.  I have a dream that each of us will choose to hear and follow leaders so that they ‘may do it with joy’ (Hebrews 13).  I have a dream that leaders will listen well to followers (James 1), reflecting deeply on and integrating the insights they share.

I have a dream for World Team.  I hope and pray that you share that dream with me.

2 Responses

  1. David, I want to live out your dream. I want to be the kind of person that thinks the best of all my fellow workers and is quick to encourage and slow to condemn and to keep my mouth shut when it is not useful for building up the body. Thank you for this post and challenge.

Leave a Reply

