• Our hope-filled future is bound up in sharing the story of Jesus, in discipling others, in bringing those disciples together into communities of believers, and in developing and releasing those believers to create other communities... till Jesus the King comes again!

Praying the Gospel

Prayer is fundamental and foundational to the work of calling people into relationship with Jesus, growing them up in Him, and uniting them to transformational communities.  We all know that truth.  We all believe that truth.praying the gospel

However, just looking at the overall time I commit to prayer – actually praying, sharing requests with others, meeting with others for prayer – you might argue that prayer is more an aspirational value than a worked out value in my life.  I’m probably not alone in this.

At least two reasons come quickly to mind for this dissonance between what I say and what I actually do as a worker.

First, I live more as an independent worker than as a dependent worker.  Honestly, I often act as if the ministry actually does depend on me.  Praying the Gospel reminds me that everything flows from the Father’s active work and investment in this world.

Second, when I do pray, it’s a lot about “my stuff” more than it is about God’s desires and His interests.  Praying the Gospel refocuses my heart on what is most important.

So, what do I mean by “praying the Gospel”?  What does that look like for me on a day to day basis?  In other words, how can I move prayer from an aspirational value to one that is part and parcel of my daily walk with Him?

Leave a Reply

