• Our hope-filled future is bound up in sharing the story of Jesus, in discipling others, in bringing those disciples together into communities of believers, and in developing and releasing those believers to create other communities... till Jesus the King comes again!

Merci encore

Those were the words that opened the email I received today from a young man who had led worship in our local French church on Sunday.  He “thanked me again” for taking the time to send him a brief evaluation or assessment of his leadership on Sunday, and for the encouragement that it contained.Stift Konzept - Merci!

Reading that note, I recognized again how vitally important is our stance, our approach to assessment.

First of all, I needed to have a developmental approach towards this young man.  In other words, I had to see him as God saw him, with all the potential that He had placed in him.  I needed to find ways to spur him on in further growth in his gifting.

Next, this young man needed to view assessment not as a criticism of who is and what he does, but as an opportunity to receive feedback that he could use to grow in his capacity and fruitfulness.  Sifting through the assessment given, he could then establish growth steps to help him in further development.

The Gospel helps us overcome our default approach to seeing assessment as judgment and criticism by reminding us again and again that our value is not found in what others think about us, but in what He has already done for us!  This frees us to accept assessment and evaluation as a means of ongoing growth in our journey with Him, strengthening us to give Him greater glory.

5 Responses

  1. Thank you, David, for these important perspectives on giving and receiving assessment. I, for one, am so grateful for the evaluations, assessments and coaching that I have received from World Team leaders over the years. They have built me up and seen potential in me that surely didn’t see. They have revealed the Father’s character to me in how they approached me. I pray that I may do the same with those under my supervision.

    • Thanks for another ‘testimony’ to the work of others in our lives. The way we train, disciple and assess others is often based on what we have experienced ourselves. I’ll be praying that you can exemplify to others the model and input that you have experienced from others leading you and investing in you.

  2. should read, “that I surely didn’t see”

  3. Thanks so much for modelling developing leaders!!!

  4. We have many good examples in WT of developing leaders. However, this still needs to become ‘natural’ in our culture.

Leave a Reply

