• Our hope-filled future is bound up in sharing the story of Jesus, in discipling others, in bringing those disciples together into communities of believers, and in developing and releasing those believers to create other communities... till Jesus the King comes again!

Why I love World Team

Last week, I started one of my posts by saying: “A number of us are complainers by nature.” It wasn’t meant as a criticism. Rather, it was an observation of how much I, we can have trouble celebrating with others when God does something good in our midst as a community.

i love WT teeshirtSo, I decided to start from a different starting point and simply affirm why I love World Team.

I love World Team because the Gospel is at the heart of who we are and what we do. The constant reminder, the constant driving us back as a community to the message of Christ’s unconditional, abundant and unending love of Christ, is what I need to hear again as I start each day. I’m grateful for so many fellow workers who remind me of this truth.

I love World Team because we work in teams. Teams are one of God’s primary means to grow us up in Him as ‘iron sharpens iron’. Teams are a model of the power of working together in sharing Christ with others, making disciples and establishing new communities of believers. We can do so much more together than we can by ourselves.

I love World Team because we are focused on that which will have long term impact: multiplying disciples and communities of believers. That investment is worth the effort expended in crossing a culture, working in serving alongside others from different cultures, and giving away the ministry to others.

I love World Team because of its rich history which still impacts the way we work and minister. One stream of World Team began through the collaboration of a Cuban evangelist and a North American Bible teacher. From there the ministry stretched out from that ‘Jerusalem’ to Samaria and the ends of the earth.

I love World Team because of the people I get to work with every day and who have invested heavily in my life …

 

Why do you love World Team?

11 Responses

  1. I would add that I love World Team because of the value of INTERDEPENDENCE in the body of Christ! We need each other’s gifts, talents and experience if we are going to be serious about fulfilling the Great Commission and living according King Jesus’ values!

    I also love World Team’s focus on LEADERSHIP DEVELOPMENT and that it first starts with us! Then as we grow, we are able to prayerfully pass this DNA onto others we are serving by modeling intentionality in the area of personal and professional development!

    I could go on and on about so many aspects that I love about WT like the competent and servant minded staff at the US Sending Center, the focus and priority of caring for and developing missionaries, willingness to take risks to stretch the missional box, desire to mobilize the body of Christ to the global Kingdom of God, safety in being authentic under the umbrella of the full acceptance of our loving Father, AWESOME Pastoral Care and Training, etc, etc!!!

    I LOVE WORLD TEAM!!!

    • Thanks Richard! We love WT because of the competent and servant minded staff in all of our Sending Centres (Australia, Canada and US) as well as partnering agencies!

  2. I love WT because God loves WT and keeps it on track to serve Him. He delights in His children and we delight in Him.
    I love WT because of the many wonderful relationship that have been built through the years. WT is more than an organisation – it is people who love to serve God together. We are on the winning team!

  3. Well, first of all – I want that WT t-shirt pictured! Richard said it very well above, so i’ll just piggy-back my thoughts off of him. One aspect of Interdependence that I love is the desire to partner well with others – both nationals in our respective countries, and other mission orgs located in or around where we serve in the world. WE need each other, and I love that WT both recognizes & values that too.

    I also love that WT is committed to prayer – both personally & corporately. There is something about praying for one another across continents & language barriers that draws us closer to community with one another, and alerts us to the needs of our areas of ministry. This is truly the only way we will continue to reach a lost world for Christ.

    Thanks for setting the pace global leadership team, and allowing each of us the opportunity to jump on board with what God is doing around the world – another thing to love about WT – “What team? World TEAM!”

  4. I love WT because we look forward into the Globalized future of this world and see opportunity for bringing the Gospel within reach of Lost people where ever we go.

  5. We’re on a roll! Thanks Jerry for adding another facet to the ‘I love WT’ post!

  6. Thanks for helping us focus on the good in WT because God is working in and through us. Sometimes when we interact with each other on a personal basis, it is easy to express our irritations about what is wrong with WT and to describe what “they” are not doing. There is plenty wrong with each of us, but praise God, the light of the Gospel of Jesus Christ in each of us, makes us right with God. I celebrate the faith and obedience of every World Team member who by their love for God and service in mission are declaring that He is worthy!!! I love the daily active worship of each World Team partner!

    • You are so right Albert. We can easily get caught up in the negative and not see what God is already doing in our midst. Yes, there are lots of things we need to change, but we can also rejoice at how God is using us in WT.

Leave a Reply

