• Our hope-filled future is bound up in sharing the story of Jesus, in discipling others, in bringing those disciples together into communities of believers, and in developing and releasing those believers to create other communities... till Jesus the King comes again!

More than the strict minimum

Tim Keller in a recent message, “The Centrality of the Gospel”, made the statement that the Gospel is not just the strict minimum we need to believe in order to be saved; that it is not “simply the minimum Christian doctrine required to believe in order to go to heaven when you die.”

The Gospel changes your life now: thoroughly, radically, and completely.  And it does so now. It becomes the all that directs our lives as believers.

This statement once again caught me off guard. We are so used to talking about the Gospel,self-confidence summarizing it in a few short declaratory truths, that we can forget it has far reaching power and influence in our lives.  Our capacity to forget the message of the Gospel provides fertile soil for the ‘weeds’ of selfishness and pride whose roots run deep.

That’s not me!” you might say.  You could think this kind of selfishness and pride is not running rampant in your life.  Take a step back for a moment and do a quick check:

Does my anger and frustration come more quickly to the surface these days?

Am I overly concerned with what other people think about me?

Am I pushy about my agenda and what I think we should be doing?

Am I quick to criticize rather than build up others?

Do I complain constantly about what I don’t have?

Now I’m not saying these are key indicators, but the answers to these questions would certainly be a starting point to assess how deep pride is running in one’s life.

The Gospel is not simply the minimum Christian doctrine required to believe in order to go to heaven when you die.  The Gospel is the power (Romans 1) to radically and thoroughly change our lives now; to address the deep rooted pride in our hearts and draw us back to Jesus.

Our daily prayer should simply be: “Search me, O God, and know my heart! Try me and know my thoughts!  And see if there be any grievous way in me and lead me in the way everlasting!”  (Psalm 139:23-24)

Leave a Reply

