• Our hope-filled future is bound up in sharing the story of Jesus, in discipling others, in bringing those disciples together into communities of believers, and in developing and releasing those believers to create other communities... till Jesus the King comes again!

What happened to our passion?

I do my best to run three times a week.  It is part of my effort to be a good steward of my health in order to better minister to others and to ‘run the [ministry] race’ well.  When I head out early in the morning for a run, it’s a time I can also set aside to pray for others and our ministries around the world.  Unhindered by phone calls or emails, I can spend the time to pray.

However, in recent weeks I have noticed a slippage creeping in.  Rather than three times a week, it’s been more like two or just one time a week.  The night before one of my runs, I was trying to ‘work up’ the desire when I realized that the problem was just that: my 155600-159730desire or passion was waning and none of my great efforts were helping to make that desire come back.

Ministry or missionary passion can go through the same life cycle.  There are times when the motivation and passion are seemingly there.  There are other times when the question keeps ringing in one’s head: what happened to my passion?

Like slippage occurring with my running, the answer is not found in ‘working up’ that passion again.  Rather, the remedy is found by turning away from self-fascination to consideration of the God who is our Father and who called us into this work.  “You have multiplied, O Lord my God, your wondrous deeds and your thoughts toward us; none can compare with you!  I will proclaim and tell of them, yet they are more than can be told.” (Psalm 40:5)

Our loss of passion for ministry can often be an indicator that something else has taken the place of Jesus and holds our charm.

May we be passionate about God so that we might be passionate then about the ministry!

4 Responses

  1. Thank you for sharing this. Well said, especially the last sentence.

  2. Thank you for sharing so openly and honestly. Something that happens to all of but don’t always want to admit.

    • As we are honest with our own struggles, I think it helps others to admit their struggles as well. Then we can ‘lead’ one another back to the cross where we receive the grace we need!

Leave a Reply

