• Our hope-filled future is bound up in sharing the story of Jesus, in discipling others, in bringing those disciples together into communities of believers, and in developing and releasing those believers to create other communities... till Jesus the King comes again!

What are we expecting?

For the first time in a number of years, our local French church held a New YComposite image of hands showing expectationsear’s Eve service.  One of our elders shared a brief meditation on the text: Haggai 2:6-9.  Not
exactly the text that many of us would have chosen for such an occasion.  However, his main point struck home and came in the form of a question: what are we expecting of the Lord in 2017?

In my mind, I came up with a number of ‘expectations’ for this coming year: more disciples, more workers, more communities of believers and the simple joy of seeing a number of French people confess Christ and be baptized.  All good expectations, but the point of our elder’s meditation was that our expectations should centre around God’s glory; on God receiving the glory, the credit.

And I will shake all nations, so that the treasures of all nations shall come in, and I will fill this house with glory, says the Lord of hosts.”  (Haggai 2:7)

If all my expectations centre on me and what I can accomplish, I am actually more dependent on myself than God.  This runs counter to our very ‘raison d’être’ which is: to glorify God by working together to establish reproducing churches.

By asking the question: what are we expecting of the Lord in 2017? I (and we) can assess the true motivation of my heart in 2017.  Yes, I want to see more disciples, more workers, more communities and many French people coming to Christ.  However, I want that to happen in the context of an ever deepening reliance on God.

That is my prayer; that the Holy Spirit would search my heart (Psalm 139), put His light of truth on those places where my motivations are not pure, and drive me back to the Cross to experience anew His forgiveness and to receive the honour of being one of His children so that I might bring glory to Him first and foremost.

7 Responses

  1. David, great way to focus our thoughts on the year ahead. Thanks.

  2. Thank you for that orientation, David. I needed that focus on glorifying God as my primary expectation and pursuit. Post-hurricane Haiti has led me to think a lot about myself and my problems, which has not been helpful at all in walking victoriously in Christ. You’ve lifted up my head to the higher goal. Thank you for that reminder.

    Nice use of British spelling too. More international 🙂

    • It’s the reminder that we all need to give to one another so that ‘our heads would be lifted to the higher goal’ as you said so well.

  3. I too enjoyed your post David. As Sean said, I appreciate that the focus is on God and not our own goals. May God keep me relying on Him and maintaining my joy in Him and His character.

  4. Thanks David for this reminder. I find if I only seek alignment with God’s purposes it can detract me from seeking alignment with God Himself. Wow, my heart is so inclined to twist good things into a self-serving agenda that promotes my glory rather than the glory of God.

    At the end of 2016 I was reading in I John and was struck by this verse.
    “Dear children, keep away from anything that might take God’s place in your hearts.” (I John 5:21 NLT) The Holy Spirit reminds me to avoid anything that detracts my focus away from God. Heb. 12:1-2 says it in a different way, “let us strip off every weight that slows us down, especially the sin that so easily trips us up. And let us run with endurance the race God has set before us. We do this by keeping our eyes on Jesus.”

Leave a Reply

