• Our hope-filled future is bound up in sharing the story of Jesus, in discipling others, in bringing those disciples together into communities of believers, and in developing and releasing those believers to create other communities... till Jesus the King comes again!

A practical example

Last week, I wrote a post titled: “Why I am not the centre“.

In that post, I made the following statement: “I’m not the centre because we (you and I in each of our ministries) want to ‘release people into ministry’.  So, at a given moment, the ‘spotlight’ has to go off of us and on to someone else.  Someone else has to be ‘equipped’ and ‘released’.

Pat & Jeannie sent me the video clip below.  When I viewed it, I realized it was a tangible example of why I, why we are not the centre.

Let’s take joy in the fact that we are part of an ever growing multicultural community of believers who long to share Christ with others.  Let’s take joy in how the Gospel can truly change the hearts of people.

2 Responses

  1. Reminds me of a quote from an early DVD from Preah Vihear team in Cambodia: “We have come to discover that missionaries really need to take a servant role within the national community and be more facilitative rather than directive; to be the one in the background, and to help enable the leaders that were growing up underneath us have a venue, have an opportunity to show the leadership skills that the Lord was bringing up in them.”

    • Often with the people considering working with WT, I will use the image that we start as initiators, quickly become facilitators, and end up becoming mobilisers!

Leave a Reply

